Skip to content

Fenders Cemetery

December 13, 2010

DSCN5088

Fenders Cemetery is located across the street from the Sabine Parish Tourist & Recreation Commission, which is at 1601 Texas Highway in Many, LA.  I went into the Commission building to ask if they could tell me anything about the cemetery, but I didn’t have much luck.

Fenders is hard for me to figure out.  It has stones marking burials at least as far back as the 1870s.  Some of the names appear to reflect first-generation immigrants.  There are several different styles and levels of commemoration.  There are even what appear to be ruins of brick vaults.  If asked to describe it, I’m not sure I could.

On to the photos.

Fenders has something I’d never seen before, which is the trellis-post thingies (technical term).

DSCN5097

How can you not love Schatzie?

DSCN5094

And then there’s “Charlie Night Hawk.”

DSCN5107

I’ve seen “Meet me at the river” and “I’ll see you on the mountain” but I’ve not been told that someone was coming to get me.  (Tell them there’s no hurry)

DSCN5109

It has been gratifying to see people of today making the effort to place markers on unmarked graves, though I cannot say for sure that they have not simply replaced an older and more historic marker.

DSCN5110

Does it get any more Puritan than Civility?

DSCN5111

Or more Biblical than Palistine?  This is one of a group of about four markers made in the same style.

DSCN5115

In the middle part of the cemetery are two brick vaults.  One is in relatively complete condition, and the other is completely crumbled.

A large uprooted tree stump is nearby.  This stump gives the answer to the question, “Why is Scotty not that fond of trees in cemeteries?”

DSCN5133

That’s why.

Must…refrain…from making…English tea joke…

DSCN5143

I really liked this tall monument for a man who died in World War II.

DSCN5166

“He gave his life for his country”

Okay, maybe Enoch is more Biblical than Palistine.

 

DSCN5168

See more photos of this cemetery on my flickr page.

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

